Minute Review – Kessler Pocket Jib Traveler

The Pocket Jib Traveler was introduced by Kessler a few months ago – and ever since I saw it at NAB 2013, I couldn’t wait to try it myself.

One big downside of jibs and cranes is their size – they are often bulky and difficult to transport, and the setup usually takes a while. The Pocket Jib Traveler does away with this – it’s the smallest and most portable jib I have ever encountered.

The good stuff: you can put it onto your normal tripod. In my test, I simply used my Sachtler FSB8 (a 75mm bowl head) with the Pocket Jib Traveler, so it wasn’t a heavy duty tripod – and it worked just fine. Also, the jib is extremely easy to set up – as you can see in the review video, it’s very simple to pull out the joint to twist it into its “jib state”.


Circular travel distance of 72 inches when fully extended: The Kessler Pocket Jib Traveler

I am amazed that the maximum payload is 4.5 kilograms or 10 pounds – I did not test it to the limit but my C300 with a small zoom lens performed just fine. I missed to mention the optional camera platform extender which you should get if you consider to use the Pocket Jib Traveler with a camera that is larger than a DSLR – it just makes it easier and more secure to mount. Of course the system also works with Kessler’s Kwik Release system.

[The only letdown of the product are the missing mounting points for accessories such as monitors, which would have been relatively easy to implement. It’s not a big deal as you can still use clamps with Magic Arms, but it would be nice to see a few 1/4 inch holes alongside the rail on the next iteration of the product.]

Correction: I was notified by Eric Kessler that current models indeed come with a monitor mounting point. Only the first few units where shipped without one, but this was corrected – the review model seems to be one of them.

The jib’s size has me convinced and I think this will be traveling with me on my shoots abroad all the time now. 27 inches (collapsed) are small enough for normal travel bags and saves me the pain of checking it separately into bulky luggage. Neat!

For me it’s a no-brainer to take this with me “just in case” as jib moves can produce nice establishing shots or similar for short documentaries or corporate and commercial jobs which I shoot mostly. This will be a “Traveler” indeed!!

The Pocket Jib Traveler is available at Kessler now, click here
European customers can order the Kessler Pocket Jib Traveler at AF Marcotec by clicking here.
Use this code: KCPJ5OFFC5D
To get 5% off the Kessler Pocket Jib at Marcotec

Leave a Comment

You are not subscribed to this post. Follow new comments

Login to comment

Nicholas January 14, 2014

I’ve had a Pocket Jib Traveler from its release date & although it’s better than other compact jibs on the market Kessler really could have designed it better. You have to work “hard” to get a solid shot & the bar that holds the weights is badly designed. Weights move a little which cause a bump when filming. The base is the worst there is no way to “lock” it into position so it always swivels a bit left to right. It’s a compact jib so I understand there is limitation with stabilization but by adding a few more sturdy components Kessler could have designed a more solid jib.

I highly recommend you buy the Kessler Kwik Release to mount this jib. It’s a major pain to mount this jib without a proper quick release.

Nino Leitner Reply
Nino Leitner January 14, 2014

I see where you are coming from and I agree it’s not the most stable of all jibs, but what can you expect at this size and weight? I have used several other products which are similar in size, but usually they are much less stable. Even the KC Lite which I’m not a big fan of. I did not encounter the problem you had with the weight moving – have you tried another type of weight?

Myles January 14, 2014

The above comment by Nicholas confirms my suspicions about this jib. I would rather spend extra time getting more shots on a tripod/slider/handheld than taking time to set up and break down – and having to do multiple takes because of the inconsistencies in motion caused by this jib. I think I would considering going ultra cheap e.g. the Trapezist jib to save some cash and get the same shots when absolutely needed or use something far more robust and reliable.

Nicholas January 14, 2014

Myles don’t get me wrong it’s a good jib “compared” to the other available compact alternatives. I wouldn’t give it up just yet. I just wish they made it a little better which could easily be done with a few additional components. I’m hoping for an improved Traveler 2.

Myles January 15, 2014

OK, thanks for the clarification Nicholas.

André January 14, 2014

For future reference it might be a good idea to show the travel (or whatever else the product reviewed should facilitate) in the actual “minute review”.

So how does a “nice establishing shot” look with this jib?

Nino Leitner Reply
Nino Leitner January 14, 2014

You are absolutely right and this is missing – we actually planned on shooting some footage with it but it started raining right after. I will shoot something with it and post it here as a separate video in the next few days. Stay tuned!

 Richard Van Den Boogaard Reply
Richard January 18, 2014

André, my thoughts exactly. What’s a review worth without showing what it can/can’t do?

Andree January 17, 2014

I generally like the work you do, so I want to take the time to give you some feedback.

When looking for information on a product, I don’t think that I ever felt that I needed the information delivered within a minute. Good information is MUCH more valuable.

Also, IF there was a 1-minute concept, I wouldn’t expect that 12s of it, or 20%, was devoted to present the presenter and add a “welcome”. All of that is obvious from the link to the video.

I feel the 1-minute concept is a construct for you to “quickly get something out there”, add some interest to the site with less effort on your part.

A proper 1-minute review would probably take longer to make than a 10 minute one, or even 20 minute one, since it takes as much work filming the material but then more work editing to cut everything down and make it understandable.

If you think the 1-minute concept is a reason to deliver less information, please re-think the concept.

I also think most readers here are aware that it is more work to schlepp heavier equipment around than lighter stuff and that bulkier items are not as practical as something that folds up nicely.

For all I care the whole minute here should have been devoted to showing how much lateral sway this jib has in various circumstances and perhaps a final image with it strapped to a rucksack to show relative size folded.

Jared Abrams February 5, 2014

This sounds personal. Anyone moderating on this site? Hit me up via email anytime.

Nino Leitner Reply
Nino Leitner February 5, 2014

Sorry Jared, just saw this now. Deleting the personal comments.

Jared Abrams February 5, 2014


Nino Leitner Reply
Nino Leitner February 5, 2014

Hi Andree, as you might notice the minute countdown didn’t even start until right after the introduction. So what you are saying doesn’t make much sense.
You are right it does not make sense for every product to deliver 1 minute reviews, but for some it does – and I deemed this (relatively simple) product fitting. Don’t forget that average people are rarely willing to spend 20 minutes on watching a review if the function a product is advertised to perform is very simple – as in this case. We produce much longer reviews as well, and quite often we find 1 minute is not long enough … that’s why the new Duzi slider review is 4 minutes long! Check it out: https://www.cinema5d.com/?p=23178
Also, at 0:25 I show its folded size by holding it in my hands – I think that is an even better reference than a rucksack as everybody knows how large hands are!!
Anyway, I really appreciate the feedback and will rethink the minute reviews for each future product review of course. But for smaller items we will stick to this format because the majority of the audience really appreciates the straight-to-the-core approach of these and I think that’s the way to go for a lot of stuff (but not everything).